The first rector of the University of Syktyvkar was appointed a prominent scientist in the field of the economy of the North, Doctor of Geographical Sciences, Professor Valentina Vityazeva (1919-2010). She headed the university for 15 years and was in those years the only female rector of the university in the USSR. In 1987, the rector was Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Professor Alexey Grishchenko (1937-2011), in 1990 he was elected to this position Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Professor Sergey Ivanovich Khudyaev (1934-2004). In 1995-2012, the university was headed by Doctor of Economic Sciences, Professor Vasily Zadorozhny. From November 6, 2012 and. rector, and since February 20, 2013, the candidate of law Marina Istihovskaya was appointed as rector; Natalia Mikhalchenkova, Candidate of Economic Sciences, took the Rector’s position; from November 3, 2016, Acting Rector – Olga Sotnikova, Doctor of Pedagogical Sciences.In the first academic year, two faculties were opened as part of the university: the historical-philological and natural sciences, and more than 40 teachers worked in nine departments. The main personnel suppliers were the Komi branch of the USSR Academy of Sciences (now the Komi Scientific Center, Ural Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences), the Leningrad (St. Petersburg), Moscow, Perm State Universities and the Komi State Pedagogical Institute, with more than 1/3 of the teachers sent from Leningrad State University. In 1972, 350 students were accepted in 8 specialties (mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, history, Russian language and literature, Komi language and literature, industry planning).