In 1973, in order to improve the management of the educational process, the Faculty of Natural Sciences was divided into three: physical and mathematical, chemical and biological, and economical; in 1977, historical and philological — into two: philological and historical faculties; in 1994, physical and mathematical mathematical and physical, in 2000 – economics at the faculty of management and finance and economics. New faculties appeared: legal (1993), Finno-Ugric (1994), physical culture and sports (1996), psychology and social work (1998), faculty of arts (2000), and lyceum (1992), college of economics and law ( 2000), college of computer science and computing (2004), Vorkuta branch of SSU (2005). In 2011, on the basis of the faculties, institutes began to be created.